Kansas Cowboy Poetry Contest

Sponsored by:

The Kansas Cowboy Poetry Contest has concluded!

Thank you to all those who participated in this year's contest. We had so many excellent entries this year, so much so that each division was a very close contest. However, winners have been chosen! You can find the list of placements in each contest listed below. We hope to see many of you back again for next year's contest!

Serious Division: 

1st - Floyd Beard              

2nd - Scott Wiswell           

3rd - Colby Richard      


Floyd Beard (Serious):: Canyons

Humorous Division: 
1st - Floyd Beard             

2nd - Steve Melton            

3rd - Scott Wiswell           

Floyd Beard (Humorous): Harley's Last Parade

Youth Roundup: 

1st - Katrina Turner 

2nd - Hannah Foster 

3rd - Lisa Kantner  

Katrina Turner (Youth Roundup): City Girl

People's Choice


Colin Schoonover 

Colin Schoonover (People's Choice): The Stars Above

Contest Committee Members:

Jeff Davidson of Eureka | Martha Farrell of Towanda | Orin Friesen of Benton | Brad Hamilton of Hoyt


Media Production/Coordination Intern

Zach Perez


Do you have questions about the contest?

Email contest chair Ron Wilson or our general contest email for more information!

Follow us to stay up to date on entry deadlines and contest updates:

  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Black Facebook Icon